Cupid’s Quandary: Episode 5

If you missed previous episodes of this story, click here

The night was a long one for Frank. His mind raced back and forth tirelessly. He was up as early as 5am in the morning, but could not leave home. He was eager to know what had happened to Sandra. Different wild thoughts ran through his head: Is the MD dead? Was Sandra involved in an accident? Was she robbed?… Or is she preg….! At that point, his heart skipped. He was waking up to the harsh reality that Sandra could be pregnant. He was mad at himself for having had sex with her. In a bid to vent out his anger, he smashed the alarm clock at his bedpost, which was ringing, against the wall.

“What is it?” Bimbo rushed into the room immediately, looking distraught. “What’s happening here?”

“Does it look like anything happened?” Frank replied in anger. “Have you come to my house to spy on me?”

Bimbo did not say a word. She stood there looking at the man she once shared lovely moments with. She could not bring herself to say anything. She had just been accused of being a spy in a room that once held so many great memories for her. She simply said “sorry” and moved out.

In actual fact, she slept at the door of Frank’s bedroom. She had said to herself the night before “even if I can’t sleep by his side, I’ll sleep close to his door; that he may wake up realizing how close I keep him in my heart.”

Frank knew he had over reacted, but he was less concerned. She deserved it. She was the reason behind the mess he finds himself. There was every possibility that Sandra was pregnant, and that greatly affects Bimbo’s chances of coming back into his life, despite the fact that he won’t deny loving her and would want her to stay. He sat back on the edge of his bed and began to ponder on what he would say to Sandra if she’s truly pregnant as envisaged. He thought of rejecting it, but he also remembered that the MD was a major stake holder in the issue. Sandra is the MD’s cousin, his job is tied to this, and invariably, his life and freedom too. Sandra’s schemes seem to have worked perfectly. He finally acknowledged the fact that he had driven himself to a point of no return.

At exactly 8am, Frank stepped out of his bedroom, fully dressed for the meeting with Sandra. It was arranged for 9am in a lounge at Lekki. Coming out, he was surprised to see the dining table already set. Bimbo looked gorgeous, despite wearing a simple gown, and Frank fell in love with her again. He saw the natural beauty and simplicity that won his heart in the first place.

“Your breakfast is ready Frank, it’s yam and egg…your favorite.” She beckoned to him, smiling in a way that sent shivers down his spine. “I realized you were going out early, I had to make do with what was available in the kitchen.”

Frank struggled to resist her charm, but he couldn’t. He was more attracted to the cook than the food. His whole body wanted to feel her against him, his hands moved towards pulling her close, his lips longed for a kiss, but he quickly remembered that he had a “life and death” meeting with Sandra – and she hates being kept standing!

“Errmmm… Bimbo, thanks for preparing breakfast, but Im sorry, I won’t be able to eat now. I have an important meeting and I can’t afford to be late.” He said regrettably.

As he walked a few steps towards the door, Bimbo rushed to him and held his arms “Frank, I suffer deep within me. I have sinned against you, and I regret my actions. I’m like a prodigal child who has found his way home. God forgives, Frank please forgive me” she pleaded as she broke down into tears. Her tears melted deep into Frank’s heart. He was moved so much that he pulled her closer and kissed her deeply, and for so long that he didn’t realize how much had passed by. When he glanced at the wall clock, it was 8:50am!

He quickly pulled back and still in the full outburst of emotions, he kept repeating “I love you Bimbo, I missed you… I forgive you.” He hugged her tightly till he dropped a tear in the corner of his eye.

“Thank you Frank. Thank you so much” Bimbo was full of sincere gratitude.

Frank left home afterwards. He took his time and drove at a steady pace. He felt great joy in his heart for the first time since Bimbo left for NYSC. It was clear to him that Bimbo left a huge vacuum in his heart that Sandra’s love could not, and would not easily fill. He played his favorite song and sang along till he got to the lounge. Stepping out of his car, he put a call across to Dennis, his best friend.

“How far chairman, you might find it hard to believe, if I tell you what’s happening to me right now” he said excitedly.

“What is it?” Said the calm voice at the other end.

“Bimbo is back! She’s at my place!”

“You must be kidding me. What the hell is she back for? Don’t tell me you will let her stay, I won’t accept that from you!” Dennis threatened.

“Chill man…” Frank tried to speak but Dennis ended the call.

He was surprised at Dennis’ reaction but he decided not to attach much importance to it, after all Dennis was only trying to defend him.

“You are thirty minutes late, what happened?” Sandra spoke just as Frank was taking his seat.

“I’m sorry… I bumped into traffic around VI” he lied.

“It’s alright. What should I order for you?”

“I’m okay… I took breakfast before coming” Frank was more interested in the “something serious” and was eager to return into Bimbo’s arms. “You said something serious happened, what might that be?” He inquired.

“Come on, Frank. we can talk about that later. You need to take a drink at least.” She replied as she beckoned on the waiter to bring a bottle of wine for Frank.
“We can’t rush. It’s something we’ll carefully talk about and do a lot of planning towards, because it is the beginning of greater things for us.”

Frank was growing impatient, but he didn’t want to show it. He was praying to God in his heart that whatever Sandra had to say won’t be “I’m Pregnant!” He would be glad if results were different.

******************************

The doorbell rang and Bimbo ran quickly to the door anticipating to see Frank but was greeted hello by Dennis. “Hi Dennis, nice to see you here.” She replied.

Dennis stepped in walking like a government inspector who’s on a routine visit to one of the government parastatals.

“I thought you were gone for good” he said.

Bimbo was not surprised, she had expected that she would not only fight to win Frank’s heart, but his friend’s too. So she decided to be humble and be as diplomatic as possible.
“I’m sorry Dennis, I don’t know what got over me… I thought I needed space…”

“What are you talking about? At the expense of your man’s life and happiness?” Dennis barked.

Bimbo was silent, she didn’t know what to say… But she just managed to keep repeating “I’m sorry.”

Dennis moved towards her as if he was going beat her up, lifted her face and looked straight into her eyes
“Even if I pretend to understand you, I will not deceive you, the harsh truth is that you don’t have a place in his heart anymore. Your space has been taken by another. If Frank told you he has forgiven you, it’s just a lie… He only wants to get his revenge. My humble advise to you is to leave as soon as you can, before you get what you deserve.”

Dennis moved towards the door looked back at Bimbo, who was already transfixed to a spot. “I can help you though, but yours is a long way to redemption and you’ll have a heavy price to pay if you’ll use my help.” He said and took his leave. Bimbo slumped immediately.

******************************

After about two hours of patience, Frank was feeling too uneasy to tolerate the suspense. “Are you going to tell me what has happened or let me go back home? I have things to attend to”

At that point, Sandra decided also that it was time to let the cat out of the bag. She took a long pause and heaved a huge sigh. Finally, she spoke “Frank, I’m pregnant….and the MD wants us to go stay in the UK till the baby is born.”

To be continued………………………………………

Olumide Lawrence

About Olumide Lawrence

OLUMIDE LAWRENCE is a writer, an artiste and a publicist. Started out as a PLAYER, now I am a Relationship COACH. Follow me on twitter @ilummynation and instagram @glowville Facebook: Olumide ilummynation Lawrence. BBM: 2A3B059E, 7E15126B.

20 thoughts on “Cupid’s Quandary: Episode 5

  1. Can’t wait any longer, every series more tougher. Keep d ball rolling, man, I dey feel U̶̲̥̅̊ die. Nice job.

    Like

  2. Can’t wait any longer, each series I̶̲̥̅̊§ getting more tougher, keep d ball rolling man. I dey feel U̶̲̥̅̊ man, Mr. Frank wettin U̶̲̥̅̊ go do now.

    Like

  3. Gr8 suspense, bt pls where did bimbo get d plaintain and chicken she boiled and friend b4 8am? Plaintain rots easily so even if we assume that. He has a bunch lying around, shey na alredy boiled chicken and soup ingredient dey around? Nna ehn, enuf nollywood scope o

    Like

  4. Oops my mistake thot I saw rice and plantain and chicken! Gr8 job guys U̶̲̥̅̊ guys r off d shizzle ma nizzle! Av a fantastic weekend

    Like

  5. Umm.nice work bro. I wonder wat made bimbo think she cud be forgiven dat easily. Dennis shld not try over defend his friend too.the story pattern is interesting but am sensing anoda twist comin up.

    Like

  6. yegba…gd news indeed. its a lesson to gals who tink dy can treat a guy anyhw cos he luvs dem n still com bck. As d sayin goes dere are many fishes in d ocean.

    Like

  7. this na wahala o! i’m not convinced of bimbo’s repentance for all i care she just mite elope again wen smtin bad apens to frank cos he sure mite lose hs job soon if he chooses to b honest. i tink he shld be honest wit sandra.

    Like

    • I understand how you feel. But you also need to know that this is a serial, it is supposed to be linked by suspense. That is what makes every reader come back for more. What we have here is what obtains even in movies, especially in series.
      We will look into your complaints,
      Thanks for your love so far.
      Motiveei8ht crew.

      Like

  8. Gbeeeeseeee reee o!
    Well, bimbo got wat she actually deserves.. No goin bk 4 frank sinz a baby z involve nd his job is @stake. Nice job bro

    Like

  9. I love the suspense ☺f this book, it makes you anticipate n that’s what a good book does. The character frank sure i§ i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ a dilenma , he has 2 choose btw a future ☺f luxury or love, which ever1 needs both., its gonna be a tough 1 and of course sandra’s pregnancy might be a scheme τ̲̅ȍ get married 2 frank. Dennis talks like he has something up his sleeves. Bimbo might J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇τ̣̣̥ fall prey 2 a diastrous plan by dennis. Thumbs up 2 the motiveight crew.

    Like

  10. nice one, very interesting from ​†ђξ emotional part of life, true to time…U̶̲̥̅̊ are thinking man,more powers to ur elbow

    Like

  11. Wow….. This story is getting more interesting but d suspense na wa,what does Dennis mean by saying Bimbo has heavy price to pay,chai Frank in serious wahala…. Kudos to U nd more grease to your elbow

    Like

Have your say

