ADAM’S APPLE | Episode 3

Sorry I didn’t post last week. Catch up with previous episodes of this story HERE

The weekend was not one I looked forward to, I had just passed through a torrid week at work, and my bus wasn’t relenting until I have met my targets for the month…else, I can forget about my salary for the month.

My weekend was bound to be just as busy as the week. All my reports must be up to date before Monday’s general meeting with the big boss.

It had to be done. I am determined to make something of my self. That’s the only vindication I will have if or when I return home to my family.

It has been five years since I left home. I miss everyone, I must admit; but I am not ready to forgive my brother.

Blood, they say, is thicker than water, but I strongly believe what I share with Gregory is nothing close to blood. If there was any brotherly bond between us, he wouldn’t have done what he did to me.

I had some issues in secondary school, and after repeating Jss2 and Sss1, Greg and I were in the same class. We graduated together and gained admission into University of Calabar together.

Greg formed an annoying habit of always reminding that we are mates in school, regardless of the fact that I was three years older, and as such, showed no respect to me. I had to keep quiet for long, determined to prove my self again by making something of my life, even if my father seems to have
given up on me and has shown how much he prefers Greg to me. I leaned on my mother for solace most of the time in school.

Greg deserved all the love and attention he got. Afterall, he was smart, brilliant, and highly charismatic. I seemed to have lost all my self esteem since Greg caught up with me in class, and I became withdrawn. Hardly would anyone have known I am Greg’s elder brother.

I tolerated Greg for as long as I could, allowing my passion and drive to succeed overshadow whatever insults meted out from my only brother. But in my final year, I had to draw the line; I had to take my destiny with my hands and carry on with my life.

Chinyere had been my friend since year two, and I grew fond of her but had a big problem of summoning the courage to take our friendship to the next level. We were two months and a few days away from graduation. It became pertinent to speak out or lose her forever. I lacked the courage to face her, and the only choice I could think of was to use a third-party; a smart person who could talk in my place. My obvious choice was Greg.

Greg was in his third relationship in four years. He knew how to meander his way into ladies’ mind and win them over. There was no better candidate to talk to Jessica on my behalf than him.

He was glad to help me speak to Jessica, and for once I was grateful to have Greg as my brother. Greg told me he would deliver in two weeks, and I was more than willing to wait.

Days and Nights passed by, and in a twinkle, two weeks had gone. Neither Greg nor Jessica was seen. My brother started avoiding my calls, and always had one excuse or the other not to see me. Jessica remained my friend though, but I couldn’t ask her questions about my brother.

After a month of waiting, I did what I should have done a long time ago. I asked Jessica out for lunch and when I stuttered through the ‘asking-out’ process, she gave me the saddest news of my life.

It was the beginning of a cold war between me and Greg. To heap more misery upon me, all Greg had to say when I confronted him was “There’s no better way to let you see how smart I am”

Well, indeed he proved himself to me… And to Jessica; they broke up two months later. I was not sorry for her, but for my self. I brought it upon her.

I therefore decided to prove myself to Greg, to my father and anyone who cared to listen…that I am no fool, I am no dumb ass, I can be a success, despite having failed severally, that I can win despite having lost to my brother.

I left home that fateful money for an unknown destination. I found myself in Delta State where I have struggled to where I am today. I will not stop until I have what it takes to stake my claim as the first child of my father.

First, I must not disappoint my boss on monday. My weekend will be busy.

******************************************

Uncle Steve didn’t say a word, but disappointment was written all over his face. It was clear he didn’t buy the lie I sold to him, I wonder how he became such a detective. How could anyone not believe I was robbed and I had to sleep in a church, and that it was the good samaritan pastor of the church that paid for the taxi that brought me home.

Anyway, I was glad I had passed that episode. I had returned home and everyone is fine. My next big concern was Greg and what I forgot at his place.

He seemed to be playing with my head; I searched my bag all through the day but couldn’t decipher what I left at Greg’s place. When I couldn’t hold it any further, I called him.

“I have been waiting by the phone all day. I almost gave up, thought you would never call” Greg said almost as soon as the phone rang.

“I am not calling to talk about you, I want to know what I forgot at your place and how to get it.” I answered sharply.

“For real? If by now, you don’t know what you left with me, it’s definitely not important to you. There will be no need to look for it.” Greg replied dryly.

I was irritated. This dude slept with me so cheaply and now thinks he can talk anyhow to me. This is further reason to run away.

“I will keep it. I find it a valuable possession I can keep for the rest of my life. Thanks for visiting. I still desire to see you again” Greg continued.

Whatever he was doing was getting to me and I didn’t find it funny. I am being blackmailed…it felt that way. On the other hand, I also would love to see Greg again, I am attracted to him that much, but returning to his place because I forgot something makes me feel like I did it on purpose in order to find an excuse to see him again. To make matters worse, he’s making the most of it.

I didn’t seem to have any choice. I would have to go to his place, to see what I had forgotten and to see this dude that just knows how to get me crazy.

“I will come to your place tomorrow. But I need you to know that I’m only coming to collect what I left over there”. I replied him and hung up, lying on the bed in the visitor’s room in Uncle Steve’s house.

Whatever the case may be, my visit to Lagos has been fruitful. I have had fun, I met @gregdinho and I can return to Asaba on Sunday to continue my life. No regrets.

The door was flung open suddenly, and the man behind the door was none other than Uncle Steve. With an intimidating look he said, “I have called your father to let him know about what happened this morning. He wants you to return to Asaba first thing tomorrow morning. So get ready to leave”

To Be Continued Next Week………

For Adverts and Publicity on this blog, please contact:
GLOWVILLE
08113150125, 07082482441
BBM: 2A3B059E
glow_ng@yahoo.com

FOLLOW US:
facebook.com/glowville
twitter: @glow_ville
instagram: @ilummynation

About Olumide Lawrence

OLUMIDE LAWRENCE is a writer, an artiste and a publicist. Started out as a PLAYER, now I am a Relationship COACH. Follow me on twitter @ilummynation and instagram @glowville Facebook: Olumide ilummynation Lawrence. BBM: 2A3B059E, 7E15126B.

One thought on “ADAM’S APPLE | Episode 3

Have your say

