Wizkid and Davido are no threat to me – DJ Zeez

First things first, pardon my ignorance, but I was really shocked to realize that this guy is of the Igbo ethnic group. After releasing so many Yoruba dominated songs, you will have to forgive me for thinking he is a Yoruba.

Anyway, the koko is that he is back after a long hiatus, and has made a comment which will definitely interest you.

image

Imo State born musician, Kingsley Elikpo aka Zeez (formerly DJ Zeez) is making a comeback to the music scene with the release of his new single, ‘Atewo’ featuring rapper Olamide.

However, despite the stiff competition in the industry, he has said he’s not afraid of anyone.

Zeez said he embarked on a deliberate hiatus from the music to study some courses but which are not music related in any way.

Speaking on his new collaboration with Olamide in a recent interview with Punch, he said: ‘I collaborated with Olamide because we are from the same hood-Bariga, alongside 9ice, Reminisce and Lord of Ajasa. It is my first collaboration in many years. I wanted to identify with my Bariga fans, who have been disturbing and clamouring for collaboration from us. The feedback has been awesome. Atewo means clap. It is a celebratory song for people doing well in different walks of life.’

Speaking on the new level of competition in the music industry now, Zeez said, ‘If you are a player in a non-competitive industry, it is best to leave it fast. Yes, the industry is a lot better now compared to when I began. The social media hype, which a lot of artistes including me, now enjoy, was non-existent at the time. What matters most is constantly rebuilding and reevaluating oneself to keep moving with the times because change is the only constant thing. Competition only makes me a better. Artistes like Davido and Olamide, are no threat to me.’

The music act, who is now known simply as Zeez, went on to add that he is only scared of not being remembered for his contributions.

‘I am afraid of not being remembered for who I was or impact I made. That is why I try to be a perfectionist in all my dealings. I do not try to imitate any artiste because it is not all about having hit tracks or endorsements but about having a genuine talent and passion for music.’

I think someone is finally finding a good reason to do music, what do you think?

_____________________________________________________
For Adverts and Publicity on this blog, please contact:
GLOWVILLE
08113150125, 08038273738
BBM: 7E15126B
glow_ng@yahoo.com

FOLLOW US:
facebook.com/glowville
twitter: @glow_ville
instagram: @glowville

About Olumide Lawrence

OLUMIDE LAWRENCE is a writer, an artiste and a publicist. Started out as a PLAYER, now I am a Relationship COACH. Follow me on twitter @ilummynation and instagram @glowville Facebook: Olumide ilummynation Lawrence. BBM: 2A3B059E, 7E15126B.

Have your say

