Nicki Minaj’s ex-boyfriend explains shocking reasons behind split

Nicki Minaj’s ex-boyfriend Safaree Samuels has finally spoken out about their messy and very publicised split in his first ever interview this week, revealing that he ended their decade-long relationship as he began to feel like her “employee.”
Nicki-Minaj-and-Safaree-Samuels-2
Safaree, who acted as Nicki’s “hype man” and also co-wrote and executive produced her three albums, gave his first interview to Power 105.1’s notorious Breakfast Club radio show on Tuesday morning where he was grilled about everything from how he and Nicki met, to their sex life and how he feels about the rumours she is now dating Meek Mill.

Detailing the reason for their shocking split towards the end of 2014 after 11 years together, Safaree told the radio hosts: “I walked away. I’m not going to say I broke up, but I’m the one who walked away. I packed up my stuff and I left. I just got to the point where the respect wasn’t there. Everyone around her works for her, you know? So it got the point where it was like, I’m your man. I’m who you go to sleep with every night. I’m who you wake up with every morning. And it got to the point where I was being treated like an employee, instead of like her man.”

Surprisingly, Safaree refused to bash the Anaconda rapper during the lengthy interview, and stated that he simply wanted to clear his name after Nicki dissed him publicly. “I would never do anything publicly to try to pull her down. Whatever happens between me and her one on one is what it is, that’s personal. I would never put that out there,” he admitted.

“I could be out here telling a million stories and doing cornball s**t, but I’m not gonna do that and I never plan on doing that. I just think it’s crazy for her to come out now and try to pull me down and try to say I’m corny. I don’t care who you with, who you with don’t mean nothing to me. I want you to move on, because I’m moving on. I walked away from the situation.”

For weeks now, rumours have been flying that Nicki has been hooking up with her Buy A Heart collaborator Meek Mill, and although she remained coy about the nature of their relationship when speaking to Angie Martinez last month, Safaree has no problem if they are dating. He told the Breakfast Club: “If that’s who she decides to move on with, it is what it is. I’m not mad, I’m not bitter because if I wanted to make it work, I could’ve made it work… He don’t owe me nothing. He’s not the childhood friend I grew up with.”

Touching words from Safaree, but you can place a bet on Nicki replying in a couple of days.

About Olumide Lawrence

OLUMIDE LAWRENCE is a writer, an artiste and a publicist. Started out as a PLAYER, now I am a Relationship COACH. Follow me on twitter @ilummynation and instagram @glowville Facebook: Olumide ilummynation Lawrence. BBM: 2A3B059E, 7E15126B.

Have your say

